Levels of Government in Canada

Federal System of Government
Main Levels:
-federal and provincial
-rules for government
-divides responsibilities between two main levels
Other Levels:
-local/city = municipal

Canada has what is known as a federal system of government. In Canada’s system, the job of running the country is divided between two main levels of government. The Constitution of Canada sets the rules for government and divides responsibilities between the federal and provincial governments. Including municipal governments, there are a total of three levels of government in Canada. Each level of government has different responsibilities. Next